Thursday, May 17, 2012

Award News

Congratulations to John C. Inscoe and his book, WRITING THE SOUTH THROUGH THE SELF, for winning the Georgia History Book of the Year from the Georgia Historical Society. The recipient of the 2012 Malcolm Bell Jr. and Muriel Barrow Bell Award, WRITING THE SOUTH THROUGH THE SELF was named as the best book on Georgia history published in the previous year. “The Awards Committee was impressed by how John Inscoe approached southern and Georgia history through autobiography and memoir to reveal fresh insights into the southern temperament,” said Dr. Paul Pressly, chairman of the committee. 

Congratulations to Linda LeGarde Grover and Melinda Moustakis! Both of their books, THE DANCE BOOTS and BEAR DOWN, BEAR NORTH, have made the 2012 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing Shortlist. "The awards are intended to encourage new or emerging writers and honor the Saroyan literary legacy of originality, vitality and stylistic innovation. The Saroyan Prize recognizes newly published works of both fiction and non-fiction. A prize of $5,000 will be awarded in each category. Winners will be announced this summer."

Two of our books have tied for first place for the Harry T. and Harriette V. Moore Award from the Florida Historical Society. SOUTHERN PROHIBITION by Lee L. Willis and SOUTHERN CIVIL RELIGIONS by Arthur Remillard have each earned this year's Moore Award. This award is for a book relating to Florida's ethnic groups or dealing with a significant social issue from an historical perspective. The award will be presented at the society's Annual Meeting & Symposium Awards Luncheon on May 24th. Good luck to both authors!

Congratulations to Joan Maloof! Her book, TEACHING THE TREES, won the Senior Prize for the Silent Spring Essay Contest. Co-sponsored by the British Council, the International Consortium of Environmental History Organizations, and the Consulate General of the United States, Munich, this contest was launched to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the publication of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring.