Thursday, December 06, 2012

The National Poetry Series 2012 Winners

The National Poetry Series is pleased to announce the results of the 2012 Open Competition. The winning books are scheduled for publication in the summer of 2013.

the meatgirl whatever, by Kristin Hatch of San Francisco, CA
Chosen by K. Silem Mohammad, to be published by Fence Books

The Narrow Circle, by Nathan Hoks of Chicago, IL
Chosen by Dean Young, to be published by Penguin Books

The Cloud that Contained the Lightning, by Cynthia Lowen of Brooklyn, NY
Chosen by Nikky Finney, to be published by University of Georgia Press

Visiting Hours at the Color Line, by Ed Pavlić of Athens, GA
Chosen by Dan Beachy-Quick, to be published by Milkweed Editions

Failure & I Bury the Body by Sasha West of Austin, TX
Chosen by D. Nurkse, to be published by HarperCollins Publishers

The National Poetry Series was established in 1978 to ensure the publication of poetry books annually through participating publishers. More than 160 books have been awarded since the Series’ inception. Publication is funded by the Lannan Foundation, Stephen Graham, Joyce & Seward Johnson Foundation, Juliet Lea Hillman Simonds, and, The Poetry Foundation.
For more information, please contact 
The Coordinator, The National Poetry Series,
57 Mountain Avenue, Princeton, NJ  08540
Phone: 609.430.0999   Fax: 609.430.9933