Monday, April 28, 2014

Deadline extended for the Loraine Williams Horizon Award

The deadline for the 2014 Loraine Williams Horizon Award for Manuscripts in Georgia History, Culture, and Letters has been extended to June 30. More information about the award, including the submission guidelines, can be found on our website.

This award honors Loraine Williams, an Atlanta-based philanthropist and patron of the arts. The winning author receives a cash award of $500 and, after successful editorial review, a publication contract with UGA Press.

The Horizon Award aims to recognize quality narrative writing grounded in sound research. Melissa Fay Greene (Praying for Sheetrock) and John Berendt (Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil) are among the best known writers to treat Georgia topics using narrative nonfiction techniques. Other well respected and widely read narrative works about Georgia include Erskine Clarke’s Dwelling Place, Laura Wexler's Fire in a Canebrake, and Gary Pomerantz’s Where Peachtree Meets Sweet Auburn. These writers have taken well researched, factual topics and have responsibly incorporated dialogue, description, character development, and other creative writing elements into their work. Their books have both enthralled readers and revealed something new about Georgia.

At a national level, writers like Laura Hillenbrand (Unbroken and Seabiscuit) and Jon Krakauer (Into the Wild and Under the Banner of Heaven) epitomize the popular and critical heights that can be achieved by narrative-driven nonfiction. The Horizon Award will honor the best books on Georgia written within this tradition.

Dates for submission:
Manuscripts may be submitted between February 1 and June 30, 2014. The winning author will be contacted directly and the Horizon Awards winner will be announced in November 2014 at the Georgia Writers Hall of Fame ( The winning manuscript will be published in Fall 2015.

Contest queries can be directed to Telephone queries are not permitted. If you encounter any technical difficulties while using the submissions manager, don't hesitate to contact our submission manager support:

Selection process: 
All eligible works will be reviewed by an award committee of three judges, who will select the winning manuscript. Please do not call the Press to check on the status of your submission. The decision of the judges is final. The winning author receives a cash award of $500 and, after successful editorial review, a publication contract with the University of Georgia Press.

1. Manuscripts considered for the Horizon Award may cover any aspect of State of Georgia history, culture, and letters.
2. Literature and the arts in Georgia may be dealt with, provided that a historical approach is taken.
3. Biographies are eligible if they take a “life-and-times” approach that shows Georgia, and not just the individual subject, in a new light.
4. Manuscripts simultaneously submitted for publication consideration at other presses are not eligible.
5. Fiction, poetry, memoirs, and works of article length are not eligible.
6. Battle, campaign, or regimental histories of any war or conflict are not eligible.

2014 Manuscript Guidelines: 
1. Manuscripts must be submitted by June 30, 2014.
2. Manuscripts may be submitted in hard copy or digitally. Hard copies should be submitted in double-spaced, 12-point New Times Roman font; the physical address follows below. Hard copies of manuscripts will not be returned and will be recycled after the competition. Online submissions will be accepted only through Submittable (; manuscripts will not be accepted by email attachment.
3. Manuscripts must be no shorter than 40,000 words and no longer than 90,000 words, including notes and ancillaries.
4. All submissions should include a current curriculum vitae, an overview of the project, and the complete manuscript including all illustrations and supplementary materials. The overview (one to two pages) must address the scope, focus and purpose of the work.
5. Portions of submitted manuscripts may have been previously published in magazines, journals, or other venues.
6. By submitting to the competition the author warrants that he or she is allowing the University of Georgia Press the right of first refusal to publish the manuscript.
7. Submissions that do not receive the Horizon Award may also be considered for book publication..
8. The prize be awarded annually; however, the Press reserves the right to make no award in any given year.

To submit hard copies of the materials required in the Manuscript Guidelines, send them to:

The University of Georgia Press
ATTN: Loraine Williams Horizon Award for Manuscripts in Georgia History, Culture, and Letters
Main Library, Third Floor
320 South Jackson Street
Athens, GA 30602

Confirmation of receipt and notification: 
Receipt of your submission will be confirmed via e-mail. An announcement of winners and finalists will be sent to all entrants via e-mail.

About the University of Georgia Press: 
Since its founding in 1938, the primary mission of UGA Press has been to support and enhance the University’s place as a major research institution by publishing outstanding works of scholarship and literature by scholars and writers throughout the world. UGA Press is the oldest and largest book publisher in the state, currently publishes 60-70 new books a year, and has a long history of publishing significant scholarship, creative and literary works, and books about the state and the region for general readers.

Statement of Integrity: 
The University of Georgia is thoroughly committed to academic integrity in all of its endeavors, and the University of Georgia Press adheres to all University of Georgia policies and procedures. To help ensure the integrity of the competition, manuscripts are judged through a blind review process. Judges in the Horizon Award competition are instructed to avoid conflicts of interest of all kinds.